What We Are Reading Now

Looking for Alaska   Looking for Alaska by John Green

I have decided that when I need to take a break from heavy reading, I would knock books off the NPR Top 100 YA book list. This is how I was introduced to John Green and his wonderful novel, Looking for Alaska.

If I had to put this book into a category, I would call it a coming of age story. Although, I feel that is inadequate because it is so much more than that. With characters that are somehow as equally simple and accessible as they are complex, Green weaves a story that will linger with you long after you close the cover.

As I was preparing to blog about this book and sing its praises, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the New York Times has done it for me. Looking for Alaska is number five on the list and has been on the list for a total of twenty weeks. This was Green’s first novel, published in 2005. It first appeared on the NYT list in 2012. Not too bad for a debut novel! I can’t wait to read more of Green’s novels, several of which are also on that Top 100 List that I am picking away at.

Leave a comment

Filed under Genre List, YA Lit

Leave a Reply

