What We Are Reading Now

The Painted GirlsThe Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan

Sigh, I was so excited to read this book.  The book is about ballet girls in the Paris Opera in the late 1880s. One of these girls becomes a model for the master painter, Degas. As I understood it, the author did do some research on the Van Goethem sisters who narrate the tale, and the book could be categorized as  historical fiction. I was expecting something along the lines of Girl with a Pearl Earring by Tracey Chevalier. But it did not follow Degas as closely as I was expecting. He was more of a supporting character.

The historical side of the story was interesting, but I was not prepared for the dark turns the story took. I was hooked in enough to keep reading as I hoped for a happy ending for the Van Goethem sisters. It was interesting to see how two sisters from the same household get pulled in two opposite directions in society, one goes up, and one goes down, initially. I won’t say how it ends, but I will say, if you have  an affinity for ballet, Paris and Degas, you should give this book a go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Clubs, General Announcements

Leave a Reply

