What We Are Reading Now

The Light Between Oceans     Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman

            The unique concept for this book is what initially drew me in. This fictional story is about a childless couple, Tom and Isabelle, who are lighthouse keepers on a remote island off the Australian coast. One day, a baby washes ashore in a small boat, what are they to do?

            The first part of the book dragged for me. The details of life on a lighthouse, the rhythms of island life and the descriptions of Australia took a bit of patience. Couple this with the fact that the story takes place post WWI. Once I had all this under my belt, I really began to enjoy the story and the vivid descriptions. Ultimately, in the end, these details are part of what made the book so fantastic.

            Still, I wondered where the story was going to lead. Then, about three-quarters of the way through the story is where it gets complicated, and so, so good. I have never encountered a book that has such a moral and psychological dilemma. I couldn’t put the book down once I got to this major turning point in the story.

            This book was on the New York Times Best Seller list for several weeks. At first, I didn’t understand why, then, well, you’ll see. It is beautifully written and really makes you think about how precious, and unpredictable, life truly is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Clubs, General Announcements

Leave a Reply

