What We Are Reading Now

The Art of Racing in the RainThe Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein

            I feel a little late to the table on this 2008 New York Times bestseller. It feels as if I am starting on the appetizer and everyone is already on dessert. If you are eating the chocolate cake then you already know how amazing this book is. If you haven’t read it yet, let me enlighten you.

            First of all, the title, it draws you in. Second thing you need to know is that it is told from the point of view of a dog. Yes, a dog. He is a philosophical dog named Enzo. He is beloved by his owner, Denny, a semi-professional race car driver. This is a moving story about the ups and downs of Denny’s life as seen through Enzo’s eyes. The story is carefully constructed to draw parallels and metaphors from the car racing world.

            It is so brilliantly written! It does have a happy ending, at least I thought so. I am a dog lover, so I may be biased. But, I think it truly is a book for everybody.

            If you haven’t read it yet, please pull up a chair. I have had so many people tell me that they don’t want to read a sad dog story. And yes parts are sad, but it does have happy, funny and touching parts as well. This is an amazing story, one that I am definitely putting on my top ten.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Clubs, General Announcements

Leave a Reply

