Every Last One by Anna Quindlen

Mary Beth Latham has a seemingly perfect life and family. She runs her own landscaping business and is a loving wife to Glen, and doting mother to three teenage children. Ruby is her eldest, a poet in her senior year, preparing to go off to college. Alex and Max are her twin boys, very different from each other but both special in their own ways.

Mary Beth is comfortable with the ordinariness of her life but she soon realizes that her son, Max, is depressed and while focusing her attention on him, she is blindsided by an unspeakable act of violence that tears her family apart. Slowly, she attempts to rebuild her life, a life where nothing will ever be the same.

A beautifully written, character-centered novel about the strength and capability of a woman facing her ultimate fear. Suggested for readers that are drawn to literary fiction with family overcoming tragedy as its central theme. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian may also enjoy this novel.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s